Governing Body Role

The Governing Body of St Mary's DSG (Pretoria), elected according to the Constitution of St Mary's DSG, is responsible for overall policy and strategy of the School, ensuring sound financial management which will further the objectives of the school as set out in the Constitution.

The Constitution is approved by the Synod of the Diocese of Pretoria of the Anglican Church of Southern Africa.

High priority is given to sound governance in accordance with the principles outlined in the King Reports.

The Governing Body meets 5 or 6 times a year. An Executive of the Governing Body is elected to manage the school on a daily basis and includes members responsible for Finance, Lands and Buildings, Marketing, Risk Management, Legal issues etc. Constitutionally the Governor's Executive, chaired by the duly elected Vice Chair of the Governing Body, is required to meet 8 times a year.


The Rt Revd Allan Kannemeyer
Bishop of Pretoria
Chair of the Governing Body
Mrs Madeleen Gorst-Allman
member of the Policy Sub-Committee
Mrs Ntsiki Gumbe
Vice-Chair of the Governing Body
Mrs Zimasa Mabuse
Member of the Policy Sub-Committee
Mr Tumisho Makofane
Chair of the Lands and Buildings Sub-Committee
Mr Shawn Maphalla
member of the Finance Sub-Committee
Adv Lisle Mboweni
Member of the TDI Sub-Committee
Lay Canon Khumo Modutla
Diocesan representative
Mr Clayson Monyela
Chair of the Brands and Communication Sub-Committee
Mrs Olive Ndebele
Alumnae Vice-Chair
Mr Mark Randall
Chair of the Policy Sub-Committee
Ms Adelaid Ranape
Chair of the Parents' Association
Mr Rami Tlhapane
Member of the TDI Sub-Committee
Mr Gerhardt van der Merwe
Member of the Finance Sub-Committee
Ms Tiffany van Tonder
Alumnae Chair

Date: Friday, 14 January 2022 11:01